johnbellone/consul-cookbook

View on GitHub
.github/CONTRIBUTING.md

Summary

Maintainability
Test Coverage
# Contributing to Bloomberg's Chef Cookbooks
First off, thanks for taking the time to contribute!

The following is a set of guidelines for contributing to Bloomberg's
Chef cookbooks. These are guidelines, not rules, so please use your
best judgment and feel free to propose changes to this document in a
_separate_ pull-request from one which contains code.

## Table of Contents

- [What should I know before I get started?](#what-should-i-know-before-i-get-started)
  - [Code of Conduct](#code-of-conduct)
  - [The Apache License](#the-apache-license)
  - [Quick Contributing Steps](#quick-contributing-steps)
- [How Can I Contribute?](#how-can-i-contribute)
  - [Contribution Process](#contribution-process)
  - [Reporting Bugs](#reporting-bugs)
  - [Suggesting Enhancements](#suggesting-enhancements)
  - [Your First Code Contribution](#your-first-code-contribution)
  - [Pull Requests](#pull-requests)
  - [Release Cycle](#release-cycle)
- [Best Practices](#best-practices)
  - [Git Commit Messages](#git-commit-messages)
  - [Ruby Style Guide](#ruby-style-guide)
  - [Chef Style Guide](#chef-style-guide)
- [Additional Notes](#additional-notes)
  - [Issue and Pull Request Labels](#issue-and-pull-request-labels)

## What should I know before I get started?

### Code of Conduct
This project adheres to Contributor Covenant [code of conduct][0]. By
participating, you are expected to uphold this code. Please report
unacceptable behavior immediately.

### The Apache License
Bloomberg believes that licensing is very important to open source
projects. It helps ensure that software continues to be available
under the terms that the authors desired. Bloomberg uses the
[Apache 2.0 license][1] for its cookbooks.

This license strikes a balance between open contribution and allowing
you to use software however you like. The license tells you what
rights you have that are provided by the copyright holder.

### Quick Contributing Steps

1. Create an account on [GitHub](https://github.com).
1. Fork the repository.
1. Create a named feature branch (i.e. `add-new-provider`).
1. Write your changes, unit and integration tests (if applicable).
1. Run the tests, ensuring that they are all passing.
1. Submit a Pull Request.

## How Can I Contribute?

### Contribution Process

### Reporting Bugs

### Suggesting Enhancements

### Your First Code Contribution

### Pull Requests

### Release Cycle
The scheme for versions of Bloomberg cookbooks is X.Y.Z, where:

- X is a major release, which may not be fully compatible with prior
  major releases
- Y is a minor release, which adds both new features and bug fixes
- Z is a patch release, which adds just bug fixes

For more information, take a look at the Chef community
[cookbook versioning policy][2].

## Best Practices

### Git Commit Messages

### Ruby Style Guide

### Chef Style Guide

## Additional Notes

### Issue and Pull Request Labels

[0]: http://contributor-covenant.org/version/1/4/
[1]: https://www.apache.org/licenses/LICENSE-2.0
[2]: https://chef-community.github.io/cvp/